Cinc duos concertants View larger

Cinc duos concertants 4 - 5


Short but intense and expressive works which move trough different feelings, tempos and rhythms.

More details

11,05 € tax incl.

Edition: Digital

    Period 20th c.
    Subheading / Parts Núms. 4, 5
    Instruments vl.pno.
    Pages 48
    Time 14 min
    Contents score + part
    ISMN 979-0-3502-0500-2
    Price of print edition 19€
    Edition Digital

    As a string instrumentalist, Francisco Fleta Polo has always shown a special fondness of the instruments within this family and they are the protagonists of the majority of his works. In recent years, particularly since 2005, Fleta has composed a series of duet concertos for string instruments and piano: five for violin, five for viola, five for cello and one (in two movements) for double bass.

    Five concertante duos for violin and piano 4 and 5 are dedicated in memoriam of Francesc Puertas, a great friend of the composer since the time they studied together in the Conservatory of Barcelona (they both graduated in violin, viola and trumpet), and the predecessor of a lineage of musicians. Far from conjuring the absent friend through nostalgic memories, the nature of the duets conveys the strength and energy that they shared when making music.

    Duet number 4 presents an initial movement in which an arpeggiated figure alternates with a rhythmic theme in double chords, whilst the second movement stands out thanks to the use of the violin’s entire tessitura. Duet number 5, which is also in two movements, presents an Andante with a predominant, extensive melody, and a last movement with a pronounced rhythmic nature and an intense and emphatic end.


    David Puertas


14 other products in the same category: