Impromptu núm. 22 View larger

Impromptu núm. 22


The work pays homage to Johannes Brahms, with each viola represented by one of the letters in the German composer’s surname, and is structured in a single movement.

More details

10,47 € tax incl.

Edition: Digital

    Period 20th c.
    Instruments 6vle.
    Pages 34
    Time 9 min.
    Contents score + parts
    ISMN 979-0-3502-0961-1
    Price of print edition 18€
    Edition Digital

    The piece is energetic and intense by nature, with a constant inner rhythm, and although it does not pose any major technical difficulties, it does require a meticulous, in-depth chamber music approach.
    In the extensive chamber music oeuvre of Francisco Fleta Polo there are various works entitled Impromptu, Capricho or Fantasia, all of which stem from the same impulse: pieces written from top to bottom, just as they emerge, with no other pretension than to express the composer’s need to make music for the instrumental combination proposed and, above all, to please the musicians to whom the music is dedicated.
    Most of the more than twenty impromptus in Fleta Polo’s catalogue are dedicated to string instruments. In this case, the protagonists are six violas. We should not forget that Fleta himself was an excellent viola player and a teacher of this instrument at the Barcelona Conservatory, so it goes without saying that he is entirely familiar with the instruments for which he writes.

    David Puertas

26 other products in the same category: