Simfonies View larger



Like works from the Baroque period, it is characterised by its instrumental virtuosity, short structures and highly varied nature.

More details

13,38 € tax incl.

Edition: Digital

    Period 20th c.
    Subheading / Parts Per a instruments de vent i percussió
    Instruments wind band,2 perc.
    Pages 48
    Time 15 min
    Contents score
    ISMN 979-0-3502-0550-7
    Remarks The particellas are available in rent regime. Contact with the publisher.
    Price of print edition 23€
    Orchestras si
    Edition Digital

    In 1985 Albert Argudo, who at the time was conducting the Barcelona Municipal Band, asked me for a piece for wind instruments to be opened by his group. In those days I preferred to write works for soloist instruments, selecting instruments from the symphonic band.
    In contrast to other compositions from the same period, I decided not to use extra-musical elements and based myself on a work by Stravinsky, The Symphonies of Wind Instruments.
    The instrumental group is very similar to that of Stravinsky’s work and also includes two percussionists with the aim of lending a clear rhythmic aspect. In addition to its almost homonymous relationship with Stravinsky’s work, the title similarly has a distant relationship with works from the Baroque period. The pieces that shared this name were characterised by instrumental virtuosity, short structures and a very varied nature.
    Although they are written in a single movement, the Symphonies are divided into three sections, beginning with a Moderato movement, a slow Intermedio featuring solos by the clarinets and bassoons and a final Scherzo.
    After the official opening performance in 1987 in the Barcelona Palau de la Música (Music Hall), the work was revised in 2009 to mark a second performance (in 2009), delivered by the soloists of the very same Barcelona Municipal Band.

    Jesús Rodríguez Picó

5 other products in the same category: